The NAMF Student Award was established to encourage, recognize and reward students for quality research in the area of mixing. Any graduate or undergraduate student doing research in the field of Fluid Mixing at an accredited University in North America is eligible. An applicant must submit a paper (as for a journal publication in electronic form) describing his or her work in mixing to the NAMF Student Awards Committee Chair (see below).

The paper should conform to the following format:

  1. Cover letter: Title of Work, Name(s) and Address(es) of Author(s); 
  2. Abstract; 
  3. Introduction (Acquaint the reviewer with the area of study); 
  4. Theory or Model Development (Theoretical basis of work); 
  5. Experimental Set-up/Procedures; 
  6. Results and Discussion; 
  7. Conclusions/Recommendations; 
  8. References.

A previous winner of this award may compete again, but will not be eligible for the travel expenses and the registration fees for the conference, even if selected as a finalist. Note: Those applicants who have already submitted abstract(s) in response to the abstract request for the NAMF Meeting are also eligible to participate.

Deadline: Each applicant’s paper must be received by Tuesday, March 15, 2016

Each selected finalist will be invited to present his or her paper at the 25th North American Mixing Conference, June 26th to July 1st, 2016 at the Château Frontenac, Québec City, Canada.

Submit applications to the Chair of the NAMF Student Award Committee:
Sujit Bhattacharya
Research and Development Centre
Syncrude Canada Limited
9421 - 17 Avenue NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6N 1H4, Canada
Phone: 780-970-6870  
Fax: 780-970-6805


The winner(s) will be notified during the conference and each winner will be presented with a certificate and an award of $500 at the NAMF Award Banquet. NAMF will cover both the travel expenses (reasonable value) and the registration fees (at the student rate, which requires sharing a room) for the finalist(s).

Selection of Winner(s):
Final selection will be based on the submitted paper and the presentation at the NAMF Conference. Members of the NAMF Student Award Committee as well as a pre-selected group of NAMF members attending the Conference will select the winner(s) after all finalists have presented their papers at the conference. The Award Committee’s decision is final and NOT subject to review by anyone.



8th (2012)
Paul Rueger, University of Maryland

7th (2010)
Justin Walker, University of Maryland

6th (2007)
Clara Ford, University of British Columbia

5th (2005)
Gustavo Padron, University of Maryland



4th (2003)
Maria Soledad Córdova-Aguilar, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México

3rd (2001)
Vesselina Roussinova, University of Alberta

2nd (1999)

1st (1997)
Genwen Zhou, University of Alberta